do i wish we could all re-set?

The other day, I went to my Verizon phone store, the one with the guy who could not be more helpful last year. I really needed his help again with my smart-allecky-phone. It was sending me text messages what seemed to be every 15 minutes from 6250 with the message VZWNMN:1. I finally figured out it was every time I received an email. Of course, I tried looking online first. Of course, I tried calling for tech back-up. They said I should just delete my email and then re-set it. I did not want to do that. I didn’t see how that would help with texts. And I just didn’t trust them. I didn’t have a personal connection and I didn’t think that they would succeed, even/especially since the online conversations concluded that they had no idea what they were doing, and even though they said it was all fixed.

So the visit.

When I entered the store, I waited just a little while for my guy to be available, but he had never heard of this before. He wasn’t giving up so easily. He also spent what seemed like an hour on the phone with Verizon tech support, But while he was we were waiting, I was also observing all kinds of other things going on. There was an interesting parade of customers. I would group them in two groups.

First, come the women without a clue.

I was, of course, one of them.

There was the woman who, from the back, looked like an overeager twenty-something, dressed in what I’m sure she thought was the highest of fashion and money. Probably the money was right. She came to ask why her phone was so slow and you can delete messages? And as you can figure out, once she turned around, I saw a woman (I think) older than me, but made me think– was I pretending to be so much younger than I am and who was I kidding? When she left, my guy said, “She’s one of our regulars. But I see that you knew that, didn’t you?”

I did. They were so very kind to her and they were being so very kind to me. I appreciated that even more.

Then there was another woman who came in to buy an Iphone, since she figured it was time for her to have one along with her husband and daughter, but she really didn’t need to have so many things on it, since she wasn’t going to use them, but shouldn’t she have the same thing and maybe she would have use of them? And I remembered that was me when I bought my smartphone last year.

Then come the men with no patience.  Need I say more? Neither did he. I think he likes talking with the ladies.

There was a TV on showing For Rent on HGTV. I do not have cable and I was not familiar with that show beforehand. I don’t think I’m going to look to watch it again, but it was there, so…

What was particularly interesting was that the real estate agent was obviously very pregnant. That’s a good thing to see that a woman can work and be pregnant and not hide behind a couch. Her name is Jody Gilmour, and I see from the google that she has been pregnant twice while filming the series, leading people to believe she’s perpetually with child.

My guy turns to the screen and then says, “Wow! She’s really pregnant, isn’t she? I don’t like to say that to a woman because I could be very wrong and that wouldn’t be good, but that’s pretty obvious, isn’t it?”

We women in the store agreed that it was a good idea not to mention it first.

He then went onto telling us how his wife is due with twins this February and they are nervous because nothing is wrong. With their first baby, she had a lot of false positive tests which led them to believe that their baby would have all kinds of developmental problems and disabilities. They couldn’t believe that things would go so well because they realized how Complicated Life Is.

And if he hadn’t said “It’s a miracle that things usually go so well” first, I would have said it. But I assured him that I completely agree.

In the end, he decided that the only way to fix my phone was to re-set it completely.

But we know that it’s much more than that, don’t we?

Leave a Reply

