other than that…

This is the title of the cookbook D#1 thinks I should write. She thinks I should start out with one recipe and show how I change it to fit from soup to nuts by changing the ingredients one by one. I could do it. But who would need to buy such a thing?

And right now, as she thought, I thought I should write about what happened the other day while making a dessert. I am up for new experiences and experiments, and I thought this here sounded interesting, but I identified it by the shorter title “Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheesecake” because I really really didn’t think that my guests would go for the Vegan-Gluten-free intro, and to be honest, neither would I.

So here’s the recipe:

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheesecake

(RAW/DAIRY AND GLUTEN FREE)

Chill Time: 2 hours
Makes: 12 cupcakes

  • 1 1/2 cups raw cashews, soaked in water overnight, drained
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 3/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 3/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup smooth, natural peanut almond butter
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp  vanilla
  • 1 to 2 tbsp apple cider rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp salt

Blend cashews and water first and then add everything else in. Blend until smooth. Pour into ramekins or cupcake liners a container and put in the fridge for at least 2 hours (or overnight). If you freeze it, just give it 20 35 min. to defrost. ENJOY!!!

The marked-through words are the things that I changed and the italicized words are what I added. I didn’t have peanut butter nor peanuts, so I went with the almond butter. ISHI doesn’t eat apples, so I used rice vinegar.

Other than that…

(see?)

D#1 thought that we should do our own version of Coffee Talk: “It’s a cheesecake that’s neither cheese nor cake. Discuss.”

But here’s where it got interesting.

D#1 took over for me putting it together. I had done the soaking and draining of the cashews, and the melting of the coconut oil. I thought I’d finish it with the boys, since they love making desserts/pushing the buttons on appliances that make a lot of noise. But they were already in the bath, so she volunteered to take it on.

I set up the blender and she got it done in no time at all.

And then, all of a sudden, I heard her SCREAM!!!!! I turn around from what I was doing and saw this enormous blob of chocolate (I thought of something else, but I won’t mention what the first thing was that came to mind) oooooozing down the side of the blender!

OH! I forgot to tell her that this blender that I inherited from D#2 does not work like you would expect it to work. I had learned this the hard way at D#2’s house while making a smoothie with it. I had loosened the glass top from the bottom, expecting that the whole thing would lift off so I could pour it into a glass.

Nope.

It has no base of its own.

(Clean-up went fairly quickly and painlessly.)

This is what D#2 found out, too, but this time with a gloriously thick exudation of what could no longer be described as free of anything.

Of course, when I saw what was going on, I also screamed and then quickly ran to her to figure out how to stop the explosion. This required a lot of licking of the fingers, of course, and very healthy doses of laughter.

SIL#1 was asked to come in and take a photo.

IMG-20130918-00071

Do you see the pan that I had set out to be the recipient of the dessert? My idea of what would serve as a ramekin? Little heart-shaped? Perfect size?

That’s why we dumped transferred it into one container. And that’s why it required a longer time to defrost.

And maybe that’s why D#2 was so eager to give up the blender!

Other than that, it was still delicious! And yes, it really tastes like cheesecake!

And yes, enjoy!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

