when your day starts with fire engines,

You can be pretty sure the rest of it has to be action-packed to keep up.

Or just built on irony, in my case.

My summer group was having breakfast in the synagogue social hall when an ear-splitting alarm went off. Fire alarm, I guess. No smoke detected by us, so we went to see what was going on.

False alarm. The custodian was dusting.

Hah! That proves that housework is hazardous!

He didn’t realize that the vacuum cleaner was jammed and letting out all the dust into the air.

Near the fire detector.

Nevertheless a false alarm, we all traipsed outside to avoid listening to it, waiting for the caravan of rescue vehicles to save us from the dust.

When the first fire truck arrived (after the fire captain and police cars) and the firefighters walked to the building, we did a little cheer for them. One of them said to us,

“Remember, layering is the key to fighting hyperthermia!”

I answered he’d be happy he’s wearing all his layers to fight the air conditioning inside the building.

All clear, we could resume our day.

Later on, I felt like I was recreating  the “who’s on first?” comedy routine that was anything but routine as I went through with an Expedia agent to find out if a certain hotel in Brooklyn allows pets. We wanted to stay in Brooklyn for after a wedding we have in a few weeks. Almost all the cool hotels in Brooklyn are very pet-friendly. Expedia online did not indicate that they do accept pets at this one place, but they didn’t say that they didn’t, either.

I’m allergic to dogs and cats and find it very uncomfortable to spend money to be sneezing. I can do that for free.

“Does this hotel allow you to have pets? I”m allergic and can’t be with them.”

“Please wait one moment and I’ll check. You will hear silence for a moment, so do not be alarmed.”
(Maybe she didn’t say that last line. But that’s what was on my mind from the rest of the day.)

“I’m sorry. They do not allow pets. They are not a pet-friendly hotel.”

“Good! I don’t want them to be friendly! I want them to be anti-friendly!”

“Oh! I’m sorry. I thought you wanted pets.”

“No, I wanted to make sure they don’t have them. I’m allergic. I sneeze when they are around.”

“Oh. I thought you wanted pet-friendly.”

“No, I might want pets, but I can’t have them. This is good that they don’t allow pets. Okay?”

This went on for a few minutes more. We agreed that we are happy to be unfriendly and we booked a room.

And then there was the thing with the alarm in the evening.

All the doors in our synagogue except the main door are alarmed to make sure that they are closed properly and to make sure that children don’t escape. The kitchen door is alarmed so that squirrels don’t get in. Kids don’t really count there. There was someone going in and out of the door without issue, bringing food into the building. Then, when he was going out to leave, the alarm went off.

What’s going on?

Again, this evening, I went out the unalarmed door without problem. When I closed the door, the alarm went off.

Something alarming is definitely in the air!

So what should we do about it?

IMG_20130724_192554_867

Bring it on, world. I can laugh about it all!

One response

  1. Pingback: not trying to be a sourpuss | Learning from the Learned

Leave a Reply

