drama queen! drama king! and all the pretty pretty princes and princesses

Who needs TV? There are so many dramas going on around me for the last few weeks while I’ve been travelling. Oh, and plenty of comedies, for sure. So let’s say that, at best, Art Imitates My Life.

Is all of it entertaining? So that’s why you go for the fake (not that that is, but it doesn’t feel so bad when it isn’t real). After all, reality TV is not. Reality is sometimes too real.

I could write about the interaction of my DIL’s with the family. Or about my SIL’s, but that’s not as dramatic. I also could write, perhaps, about my relationship with my machatanim (in-laws), but I won’t. I’m grateful enough to know how grateful I am for relationships that work. But for now, I’ll write about my daughter’s nanny.

I had not met her before this trip, but I had heard about her, with my daughter’s somewhat feeble attempt to imitate her Jamaican accent. (No, I can’t do much better.) This is a woman who has had much difficulty in life, including divorce, death and incapacitation of relatives to violence, forced to move due to violence, lost her teeth in the move (but thankfully found them), but has God. The church keeps her strong; gives her a commitment to community; keeps her smiling and giving. She told me yesterday, when looking at our littlest one, “I t’ink that people who hurt babies and old people should be shot.”

“And those who hurt regular people should also be punished, don’t get me wrong. But not shot.”

I had heard how she sings “The eensy-weensy spider” to the baby in her jazz rendition and has a running dialogue about why this fool spider would want to do the same thing all over again. But hearing her do it in person is great entertainment, especially watching the babies (ours and a co-watched little boy) squirm and squeal with delight. And hearing how she took the babies to Story Hour at the local library and how they both recognized the song and did their little dance there reinforced how the siblings will also perform this classic, with the same results.

Okay, most of the time.

But I thought of her today because she helped me schlep my enormous suitcase down 2 flights of stairs. I could have bumped it down very very slowly, and that’s what I was doing, but I was grateful for her help. But, of course, I felt enormously guilty.

Of having such a big suitcase full of stuff just for 2 1/2 weeks. I can justify it by saying that the suitcase itself is enormously heavy, which is true.

I could also say that why not? I wasn’t flying. I didn’t have to worry about weight restrictions; only about schlepping capabilities. Also true. And even though I wore almost everything I had brought at least once, I didn’t even bring heavy enough clothes for last Shabbat or light enough for this week. I managed.

But the guilt remains. She does not have so much and what she has, she shares. I share, don’t I? This trip back, I’m actually bringing more. I’m taking back their toaster, blender, and a few other items that we used to have but have been broken for a while. So I’ve taught my children to share. That’s something, right?

But here– I’m going to share something with you. To alleviate my guilt, I know we have to work on alleviating a lot of other things.

So does the High Level Panel.

The High Level Panel on the Post-2015 Development Agenda today released “A New Global Partnership: Eradicate Poverty and Transform Economies through Sustainable Development,” a report which sets out a universal agenda to eradicate extreme poverty from the face of the earth by 2030, and deliver on the promise of sustainable development.

No, I’m not in the habit of reading HIGH LEVEL reports from the UN. I read it here in a blog called Make Wealth History. And here is a summary of the REPORT.

  1. End poverty
  2. Empower girls and women and achieve gender equality
  3. Provide quality education and lifelong learning
  4. Ensure healthy lives
  5. Ensure food security and good nutrition
  6. Achieve universal access to water and sanitation
  7. Secure sustainable energy
  8. Create jobs, sustainable livelihoods and equitable growth
  9. Manage natural resources and assets sustainably
  10. Ensure good governance and effective institutions
  11. Ensure stable and peaceful societies
  12. Create a global enabling environment and catalyze long-term finance

There. Do we all feel better now?

I t’ink they’re not in order.

2 responses

    • Thanks! I’m not in the habit, either, but I do read the blog of Making Wealth History to assuage my guilt. And if we all picked one point on the 12 to focus on, who knows how far we’d get!

Leave a Reply

