observations while being in the here now

While in the airport, a woman noticed that another woman going the opposite direction had dropped her glasses. She said, “Excuse me.” I said, “YOU DROPPED YOUR GLASSES!!!!” She turned around and thanked us. I said to the noticing woman, “You should have shouted.” She answered, “I’ll tell my kids that somebody had to tell me to yell.”

Yes, we don’t shout at strangers, even if we need to.

Taking the train would have been sooo much easier. This way, we had to take the Metro to Union Station, take the MARC train to BWI airport, then a shuttle to the airport itself, go through the ticket line, the security line (separate bin for laptops now), and then hurry up and wait at the gate. Thank God we got here in time. At each point of the travel (we left at 1:50 pm from their apartment–the flight is at 5:50), I got more and more anxious. I tried very hard to detach and observe my surroundings. I really wanted to pay attention to where I was.

Que sera, sera…

At a couple of points, I succeeded.

I noticed the flooding along the train lines. While in DC, we were really not cognizant of how bad it was for the rest of the Northeast corridor. Of course, we knew how bad it was, since we had to swap our plans to take the train, which we really thought would be the safe bet for travelling, to fly home. Best of the best laid plans change, I guess.

I noticed how much people were spending time hooked into their devices and not with the people they were with. (See this interesting article in Tablet on “The Rabbis are Right in their Criticisms about IPhones“, if you’d like.)

And in hurrying up and waiting, you always end up waiting much longer than you stressed about the waiting.

And we ended up sitting on the plane for an hour while they “filled out paperwork”. The fellow sitting in front of us informed his son that that is code for maintenance. While they fill out the paperwork, if they don’t pass the test each step, they have to make repairs. And this can go on for a long time, as we saw.

We’re now in the air after an hour delay. I see the difference between that extra step of kindness that makes all the difference in the world.

I mentioned the fellow in front of us. I chose the word “informed” with an informed sense. He’s taking his son on a tour of a certain Ivy League school and he’s using every opportunity to drum education into his son. Even to the point when his son declined a glass of water that they offered (so nicely!) while we were waiting to take off, he corrected him to the flight attendant and said that his son would indeed take the water.

I’m happy to see a father interacting with his son.

And yet…

At least during the flight, he’s letting him study his vocabulary words on his own without [further] prompting…

And when I looked at the ad in the inflight magazine that featured the best doctors in America and the doctor that was highlighted was holding a baby, so I read that it said “pee-nominated ” and that made sense to me.

You go with what is familiar, even when observing.

I’m so proud of our son as a new abba. I am not surprised how comfortable he is with children, since he’s been an amazing uncle. This new role is something you can’t take too much of a break from. After you finish your work, you come back to the reality. How do you approach parenthood? As a responsibility or as an honor?

I am so honored to see how he is rolling with the punches.

And coming out a winner.

Leave a Reply

