How did you make the baked (?) Quinoa?

Another real email, for your reading and eating pleasure:

From: a guy friend
Sent: Friday, August 24, 2012 10:34 AM
To: mysending
Subject: Quinoa

Hi ,

How did you make the baked (?) Quinoa?

Thanks

and my response:

  1. Saute onions and mushrooms until soft
  2. Add quinoa and let simmer just a bit
  3. Add proper amount of water, however much you’re using per cup of quinoa
  4. Let cook until almost done
  5. When starting to panic that you’re not ready and Shabbos is almost here, put in oven along with whatever else you’re baking at the time for 10 minutes and leave when Shabbos comes in to keep warm
  6. And hope for the best.

Shabbat Shalom!

mysending

If you didn’t figure it out already, it was a recipe that I came up with in a panic, but that came out really well. This young couple had been here for that Shabbat and so they benefited from my anxiety. I’m not sure I can do it again, but here’s trying!

So while I’m at it, I’ll throw in another recipe that I came up with last week that I’m really happy with. I had seen one for Corn and Coconut Soup, I think on Martha Stewart (this looks familiar), but never copied it, which was unusual for me. So I just went to town and this is what I came up with:

Ingredients

  • Olive oil–I have no idea how much I use–the right amount to saute (2 T?)
  • onions-I used one giant one from Costco, you know the enormous ones in the 10 lb bag? The best for chopping.
  • 1 large bag frozen corn kernels
  • about 4 yellow squash
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • water (I have no idea how much–whatever looks good)
  • Garlic –if you want to put in fresh, I’m not stopping you
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Basil–add fresh or dried, whatever you have

Directions

  1. Saute onion in oil in large pot and wait for the onion to get wilted.
  2. Add squash and cook until more wilting happens.
  3. Add corn kernels until soft.
  4. Add water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer until all is tender, about 10 minutes.
  5. Add coconut milk and allow to simmer just a bit more. Throw in the spices and herbs now, please.
  6. Zudgsh. (How would you spell it, D#1&2?) Translate–use an immersion blender until smooth enough.
  7. I think I added a little Tamari at the end, just to add a bit of umami.
  8. Serve hot for Friday night dinner, and then serve cold the next day!
  9. Enjoy!

Shabbat Shalom.

And hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

