layers

I don’t understand some trends.

I like being able to layer clothing. It gives me a feeling that I can manage the weather.

Not control it.

But why do we look to make things complicated?

Like this food layering business. Maybe it’s good to help people lose weight.

Layering flavors involves cooking techniques that add depth of flavor. Each step of the cooking process is important — skip a crucial step and you can’t add back the missed flavor.

Crucial step?

It’s food.

The only thing crucial about food is to have it and not in a way that’s dangerous to your health.

I look at my old cutting board. That’s simple and direct. Beat-up, uneven, worn. Like me.

Dependable.

Useful.

Real.

Now, wine, on the other hand, deserves to be layered and complicated.

Like me.

Leave a Reply

