must-stop-pressing-yes

The postman just rang.

I thought it would be my package from Amazon, which was what I was starting to write about.

But no, it was something for ISHI. That makes me feel just a little bit less guilty.

I guess it’s not an addiction.

I can control it, but I choose not to.

(I’m not writing about Pesach yet–I KNOW! It’s called selective avoidance. If I pretend it’s not there, then maybe I can control my panic.

I said MAYBE.)

I’m primed for purchase. What a great name. Whoever thought of that was brilliant, as in demonically. Cue the laugh.

I do not buy everything on my wish list by any means. But I know I’m being silly. As I try to weed out books from my house (note to self–move all the boxes of weeds out of upstairs hallway before the kids come for that P time), I keep buying more.

But is this really wrong? After all, I’m reading them!

Well, that’s the problem. I’m reading them but a little too slowly perhaps to justify my immediate purchase of all those books.

Wait. I don’t want you to get the wrong idea. I don’t get a book every day, nor even once a week. Here’s a record of what I’ve ordered for the last 6 months:

Still to come:

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir)

Jenny Lawson
Those choices probably confound the algorithm people at Amazon, wouldn’t you think?
Then there are the ones I’ve already received and not finished reading:

The Brain in Love: 12 Lessons to Enhance Your Love Life
           I’m enjoying this one a lot. I think I will be writing about this in the future.

Daniel G. Amen M.D.

Start-up Nation: The Story of Israel’s Economic Miracle
             I had to have it, even if it will take a while to read it.

Dan Senor, Saul Singer
Marital Intimacy

Avraham Peretz [Cary A.] Friedman                                             Wait–I finished that one!  Great little book!
Thinking, Fast and Slow

Daniel Kahneman                                                                       Also enjoying this one. Slowly.
The 3 Power Values: How Commitment, Integrity, and Transparency Clear the Roadblocks to Performance

David Gebler                                                                              I’m looking forward to reading this one when it comes out!
Wait–this got published because I pressed yes but I wasn’t done!

Oh it’s too easy, isn’t it?

And it doesn’t include household stuff, like my new

Envirosax Bloom Shopper,Purple Peony,one size


Envirosax Bloom Shopper,Purple Peony,one size

Sold by: Bright & Bold, LLC

This I bought to replace my mother’s missing Bloomingdale bags. They were black. This is not.

And this doesn’t include a lot of gifts, which, of course, are a different animal of a different stripe.

I can always justify gifts without any guilt.

So why can’t I justify giving myself things without the guilt?

One response

  1. Pingback: what can i tell her i’m reading? | But Mostly Hers

Leave a Reply

