purim torah that’s not

Purim Torah in the sense that it’s making fun of others.

But that is the point.

Exactly.

What I’m thinking came in stages. Since I don’t remember the first stage exactly, I’ll jump into what I remember. After the Megillah reading this morning, I went over to someone who was talking with someone else. I wanted to thank the person for doing a community project and check up on her, so I figured I’d wait for them to finish talking. They were talking about dieting. The woman standing and looking like she was leaving said “Don’t eat that way; you should eat this way.”

The woman I was waiting for answered, “That doesn’t work for me.”

After the other woman left, she said, “She’s full of advice for others, but not so much for herself.”

Or something like that.

That’s when I answered, “We’re always able to give advice to others, but not see things for ourselves.”

And that’s when I realized that’s what the Purim story is about.

Just think about it–everyone realizes all kinds of things about everyone else–Haman realizes that the Jews stand alone (just like Paro); Mordechai realizes that Esther has to get into the palace; Haman’s wife and family have to tell him what to do with Mordechai; all the servants and advisors realize all kinds of things about everyone else.

And so I said, “That’s what the Purim story is teaching us–to wake up to the messages all around us.”

And so it is.

I think.

And so just a bit later, when I was talking to another woman from the community, who’s a psychologist, I said the same thing over and realized how true it is everyday.

We are so blind to all the hints, the gifts, the not-so-hidden messages.

So we should start paying better attention.

Happy Purim, y’all!

Getting’ wiggy with it: Unappealing sheitels a hit. Who nu?

Getting’ wiggy with it: Unappealing sheitels a hit. Who nu?

Leave a Reply

