some thoughts about having favorite things

I like to think of myself as not being consumer-driven. And yet, at the end of the day, I like my creature comforts. I think that’s it, more than anything. I like to be comfortable. So that means comfortable clothing, housing, and other sundry stuff.

I don’t think that’s a problem. We live in this world, so we might as well be comfortable for the ride.

Lately, I’ve been thinking of the things that make me happy. It started with a realization about redecorating my kitchen. It’s that I don’t want to. A few years ago, we finally replaced our kitchen floor, which I had hated from the very start when we moved into the house. But values and choices, other things always came first. When we needed to replace our very dead stove, then it became reasonable to replace the floor. But how many years later, we still haven’t replaced the wallpaper and it really doesn’t match the floor and it looks old.

It is. We have had this wallpaper for 30 years. That’s time, don’t you think? Plus, when we put in the new stove, it was smaller than the original one (which was huge only because it had a storage drawer on the side, pretty unusable), and there was a large patch on the wall that doesn’t even have any cover. Actually, that looks better than the paper, at this stage.

So what’s keeping me from moving on this? Yes money is always an issue, but if/when we sell the house, we have to fix it, so we might as well do it now and get some sense of pleasure out of it.

Right?

Here’s the thing.

And it’s a thing.

It’s a sugar bowl.

My mother went to Spain? France? I forget and found it and gave it to me, saying, “It matches your kitchen.”

So…

If I changed the color of the wallpaper to match the floor more closely, then it won’t match the sugar bowl.

The floor color was chosen to match the living room and the wood and to tie the rooms together more. And with the intention of changing the wallpaper in the kitchen, going with a southwestern kind of look.

So do I look to the future and forget the past?

4 responses

  1. See if you can find a wallpaper or paint color that will work with both. If not, remember that today’s design word is “re-purposing.” Use the sugar bowl in another room–it can hold cotton balls in the bathroom or keys by the entrance.

    • That’s a great idea. I’ll have to give this some more thought about where. And you know, we’re not from the sugar users, anyway, so re-purposing would be perfect!

Leave a Reply

