would the real poochie potchie please stand up?

I don’t know how people have 13 children. Well, I know how, but I can’t imagine raising them. I have already too many problems remembering what I did with only 4. The constant peacemaking that consistently provoked more fighting. And almost never over real things or issues that I could recall now. And even when my kids are out of the house, I find I’m still having to settle things between them. Like the names of their dolls. I’m not kiddding. This seems to be a huge conflict. I remember very clearly when I was meeting with a supervisor before the school year started the first year we moved here. D#1 was with me, since it was going to be a short meeting. She had with her a cute little puppet and this teacher asked her what the puppet’s name was. Without missing a beat, she answered: “Pootchie Potchie”, adding our last name for clarification. She was, btw, at the time, less than 2 years old. I remember this story because it illustrated the power of puppetry and of the imagination. Of course our daughter was (is) brilliant, but that went without saying.

But now D#2 says I’m mistaken. She named Pootchie Potchie and it was not the puppet. It was a dog. She showed me this dog last night and I have never seen it before

in

my

life.

But here’s an interesting bit about the brain:

“Flashbulb memories” are precise, detailed and persistent.  We all have memories that feel as vivid and accurate as a snapshot, usually of some shocking, dramatic event—the assassination of President Kennedy, the explosion of the space shuttle Challenger, the attacks of September 11, 2001. People remember exactly where they were, what they were doing, who they were with, what they saw or heard. But several clever experiments have tested people’s memory immediately after a tragedy and again several months or years later. The test subjects tend to be confident that their memories are accurate and say the flashbulb memories are more vivid than other memories. Vivid they may be, but the memories decay over time just as other memories do. People forget important details and add incorrect ones, with no awareness that they’re recreating a muddled scene in their minds rather than calling up a perfect, photographic reproduction.

Read more about  Top Ten Myths about the Brain here, including the one about It’s all downhill after 40 (or 50 or 60 or 70).

So I don’t know how to settle this one. How do you recall facts that were never written down, never documented in any way? I could challenge D#2 by recalling all the “interesting” memories that she would bring up, like when we put our house on the market? Um, never happened. Or is it that it just hasn’t happened yet?

So which do you think should be proclaimed the real Pootchie Potchie?

This

or…

3 responses

  1. Schrodinger’s cat. Both are Pootchie Potchie and NOT Pootchie Potchie. 🙂
    Let’s pay homage to Bobby, Israel, Becky Bagel Mariasha.
    And Clowny.

Leave a Reply

