where in the world have i been?

This morning I needed to do some copying at Staples. As I was nearing the store, the light in the sky reminded me of Israel. And then I got out of the car and it felt like Israel, warm air with movement all around. I’m not sure why that feels like Israel; I guess it goes back to the memory thing and the batches of memories that pull all those elements together.

Then I went over to the copy center and was standing behind a woman who was impatiently trying to explain what she wanted copied. She clearly had an accent, some kind of middle eastern one. Once she finished with her request, she turned back to her cellphone and said,

“Yalla”.

Okay, there are a lot of Arabs who live around that particular store, so no surprise.

But then SURPRISE!  She continued her conversation in Hebrew, about how people don’t understand her and that annoys her.

That was amusing, for sure.

So it got me thinking about places I’ve been and people I’ve seen. If this week Matt Lauer is worldtrekking, then I can think about where I’ve been.

Granted, the first few stops were not my choice, but they probably made me who I am more than some of the ones I chose on my own. That clearly is something to think about.

But in the meantime, here’s my list.

  1. Puerto Rico (si, verdad–nací en Puerto Rico)
  2. USA
  3. Canada
  4. France
  5. Israel (that doesn’t include living there, either, I guess, but that’s another story)
  6. Jamaica
  7. Germany
  8. Switzerland
  9. Spain
  10. Netherlands
  11. England
  12. Wales
  13. Scotland
  14. Mexico
  15. Italy and
  16. the Azores (just stopping at the airport for both; does that count?)

I know that’s a lot. I know I’ve learned a lot from seeing all those places. I would like to go to Venice, and I would like to go visit my kiddies in Australia. But I have very little wanderlust; the pain and annoyance of travel in this world of insecurity have taken whatever little I had away from me. Maybe driving is the only way to go these days.

But you can’t get to either Italy or Australia in a car. And I don’t think I’d make it kayaking.

2 responses

    • I’d be interested to see it when you’re finished–I never did see your son’s finished list! One of the things I thought of writing about here was my sense of guilt for not being able to provide for our kids the same kinds of experiences that my parents did for me, and ISHI as well. But we sure did give them lots of others, I guess, to take their places. Hmmm places….

Leave a Reply

