food, as most things should be considered

I feel like photos have been missing from my blog lately, so I’m going to write about baby bok choy.

I just used up my baby bok choy in my stir-fry, and that brings up some memories. I don’t think I’ve ever written about my children associating my cooking stir-fry to the music of All Things Considered. I hinted about it once, but no one blinked. So I will explain, for all of you out there, and then get on with what I was thinking about.

It’s pretty simple–it’s the idea about memory being associated with smells, which then get grouped with actions. And that I did write about here not too long ago, about raking and cancer. So when I used to cook stir-fry once a week only when the kids were little, meaning still in the house, and I would listen to the NPR broadcast starting at 5 pm, it became one big jumble of memory points for all of them.

I no longer listen to it. I prefer silence. I don’t think they consider all things, and I don’t care so much for much of what they do consider.

But tonight, as I made stir-fry, I thought of them thinking of me, or at least the experience of dinner-making. But it also made me think of how my kiddies, well, at least five of the eight, were very enthusiastic about my newest addition to my menu offerings, Miso soup.

I made it a few times over the course of all the holidays and all the adults enjoyed it, as well.

Especially with the baby bok choy, I must add.

So just for fun, I’ll throw in the recipe that I use. I think it’s similar to the one here from Whole Foods, but I’ve changed a lot of it, if I did originally get it from there.

Miso Soup with Garlic and Ginger
Makes 2 quarts
  • 1/2 pound carrots, peeled
  • 3 each green onions for garnish
  • 1 teaspoon canola oil (I use olive oil, and probably more than that)
  • 1 1/2 cups yellow onion, 1/4-inch dice (or whatever you want to do)
  • 2 tablespoons ginger, minced
  • 1 tablespoon garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 quarts vegetable stock
  • 8 ounces pkg tofu, thinly sliced and baked (Oh! You’re supposed to BAKE it?)
  • 3/4 pound bok choy, 1-inch pieces
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons red miso (or whatever kind you have)
  • 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar (never noticed this step before, either)
  • toasted sesame seeds

Thinly slice carrots and green onions (green part) at an angle. Heat oil over medium heat. Sauté onion, ginger and garlic until onions are translucent. Add stock, tofu, carrots and bok choy, and bring to a boil. Simmer 3 minutes.

Dissolve miso into 1 cup of broth. Add back to soup and stir in. Remove soup from heat, stir in vinegar (or not).

Garnish with green onions and toasted sesame seeds. (or not–but it looks pretty)

Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. the connection is still just as visceral! Not a stir fry or some things considered passes by without being connected. 🙂
    And thanks for the recipe, I was meaning to ask you for it.
    And I’m catching up on your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

