odds and ends

I know I wrote about oddballs the other day. This is a different kind of odd. There are odd people who live all around us. People put up facades for dealing with or in reality, so you do not have any idea of what is really going on. Yes, psychologists have a bigger clue, but I can’t imagine that they can spend more time than we regular folks thinking about people’s motivations or internal dialogues.

You can’t–you have a life of your own to live.

And yet…

I wonder about the guy who sits on his driveway at night, on a very hot night, on a very hot driveway, rather than on his porch facing the beautiful woods behind his beautiful house.

I wonder about the family who let their grass grow ‘way too long, about another who have stripped their yard of all grass, and about the family who manicures every bush with garden scissors.

I know, sometimes a cigar is just a cigar.

And yet…

I wonder about the kind of man who can do violence to a woman.

I wonder about a man who can do violence to a child.

I wonder about a man who can do the ultimate violence and kill someone.

I wasn’t sure at all that this would go in this direction, linking to the tragic death of Leiby Kretsky. I know that community spends little time thinking about what goes on in the outside world. If the police are lucky, and society is lucky, then the person that they have in custody will actually be the one who is responsible for this crime. But it shows that we have to pay more attention to people and the signs that they are showing us, before other awful things happen.

And yet, will we learn how to pay the right attention and then do the right thing in advance?

Leave a Reply

