practicing gratitude

We have to practice because we just can’t get it right, can we?

Yes, the weather outside is frightful. Yes, I’m sick of tunnel vision from so much snow. Yes, my shoulders hurt from hurling heavy snow over a mountain of other snow. Yes, I’m avoiding driving because I don’t trust other drivers. Yes, I do have to do a milllllion errands and they’ll all get lumped together tomorrow. Yes I’m worried about the next storm coming and yes, I’m worried about a lot of people’s mental health.

Maybe more of that in a moment.

But for now, let’s practice saying “Aren’t we glad we don’t live in Egypt?”

Aren’t we glad we don’t live in Australia?

Aren’t we glad we don’t live in the Sudan?  Or probably anywhere else in Africa? (There may be pockets of sanity; I’m not aware of them at the moment.)

Aren’t we glad we don’t live in Saudi Arabia? Iran? Yemen?

Aren’t we glad we don’t live in Chicago (although I really really love visiting there.  In the summer.)?

Aren’t we glad we don’t live in [okay now fill in the blank for your own choice.]

There. Don’t you feel better, having practiced a little schadenfreuden gratitude?

I think I’ll relish the moment and talk about mental illness and shidduchim at another time.  That’s wise, considering my tunnel vision and all.

Leave a Reply

