Did you ever know all the words to this song?

I didn’t know what the words to “Shoo Fly, Don’t Bother Me”, other than the first two lines.  For that matter, I didn’t know more than that of the tune, either.  But since my littlest one here has a fear of flies (but not much else, especially of heights and/or of making me crazy when he climbs on things completely out of reasonable for a two year-old), I figured we’d sing the song together.  So I looked for the words:

Shoo, fly, don’t bother me,
Shoo, fly, don’t bother me,
Shoo, fly, don’t bother me,
For I belong to somebody.

I feel, I feel, I feel like a morning star,
I feel, I feel, I feel like a morning star.

Oh, shoo, fly, don’t bother me,
Shoo, fly, don’t bother me,
Shoo, fly, don’t bother me,
For I belong to somebody.

That doesn’t make much sense now, does it?  I thought at first that was lovely; we’re introducing imagery to the little ones, but it didn’t sound just right, sort of like the “Ring around the rosies” thing.  So let’s continue with the reality, shall we?

I’ll let you find out what the original words were according to Wikipedia here.

Of course, I should provide you with the tune–you can hear it here.  Why it is there, you have to figure out on your own, since I have absolutely no idea.

Leave a Reply

