I met my father’s new best friend,

if they ever met.  He’s so much like my father, except for distance and circumstances, which do account for a lot.

ISHI and I went to Costco yesterday to shop for a shul barbecue, the house and more.  Wouldn’t you know it?  Costco closes for the 4th!  Well, good for them, but it would make today much much tougher.  And so it did when I went back there today.  I managed to get all my items balanced just so inside and under the shopping cart, but when it came time to put them back in, the sales lady had piled one cart full before I had finished scanning all my items.

So 2 carts it was.  That was actually fine, since that way I would remember which went to which place, but how in the world would I be able to maneuver the 2 carts out to the car?  I have done it before, like when going Pesach shopping, but those were somehow much lighter items in smaller carts.  This was serious.  Okay, it’s not raining, and I’ll just go slow and steady.  Except this is where my father’s buddy comes up to me.

“It looks like you could use some help.”

“Oh, I don’t want to bother you.”

“No, I am happy to help you while I wait for my photos to be developed.”

And so he did, and while we walked out to the car, he told me how much he loves to help people, because that’s what life is all about.  He was frustrated with how badly the youth of today treat those of a certain age.  He was at a fireworks display last night with his lady friend who walks with a cane to help her with her arthritis.  The kids all around were bumping into her and making their annoyance at having to go around her very clear.  I told him how much I appreciated him and that he should be spreading his message as wide as he could.  He said he’s doing that and hopes to do it for a long time to come; he’s 72, but he expects to live a long time because he’s got good genes.  His grandmother who was Cherokee lived to be 02.

Good deal, as my father would put it.

So I figured I’d spread the word, too.  We have so much to learn from these guys, if we’d only listen up.

Leave a Reply

