the sounds of quiet

I somehow don’t mind driving without music during the 3 weeks and during sefirah, but that’s mostly because I don’t do much long-distance driving at all.  I will not listen to talk radio, either to the left or to the right, because it doesn’t do anything other than get me riled up.

I realize that I am very happy listening to quiet.  I like listening to the car changing gears, to the ambient noises all around, to the general nothing-in-particular.  I don’t like talking on the phone in the car, even with bluetooth, because it  always dulls the sound of the voices on the  line.  My hearing isn’t as sharp as it used to be (nothing to be concerned about; just the natural aging process), so I need all the help I can get.

When I walk, I notice how many people are talking on the phone as they drive.  I used to hate how parents would be talking on the phone as they came to school to pick up their kids.  Stop!  What are you doing?  Pay attention to what matters/who matters!

It upsets me, in case you didn’t realize it yet, how people are so fixated on noise, needing noise.

And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
People talking without speaking
People hearing without listening
People writing songs that voices never share
And no one dared
Disturb the sound of silence

It’s a good song, but actually, it’s better when you read it and not hear it.  That way the message comes in loud and clear.

One response

  1. Pingback: not so invisible disability | But Mostly Hers

Leave a Reply

