although Time magazine often annoys me

here’s an interesting article about Diane von Furstenberg on the “Meaning of Luxury”.  I’m quoting here what I found to be the most intriguing part:

Claridge’s has stood the test of time and so have you. Any tips on how to age gracefully?
I decided to age naturally and to not alter my appearance. The best way to age is to be involved and engaged in the world, and to assume the person that you are. Your age, your country, your social background — it doesn’t matter. At the end it’s all about being your own best friend and liking yourself. Life is a journey and landscapes change and people come and go, but you are always there.

You’re 63 years old, but young people still gravitate to your label. Why is that?
That’s the most flattering thing. The older I get the younger my customers get. I think it’s because I really understand women. My clothes empower women. Not because they have big shoulders and make you look like a man. But because they are very comfortable, they mold to your body, they are very flexible, and they make you really comfortable. And if you’re comfortable you feel confident. And if you’re confident you feel beautiful.

I can’t add anything to that!  I just have to take in the lesson that she’s offering to us.

Oh, but it does remind me that I wanted to write about the trend that I see of women who hunch their backs.

(Are we straightening our backs, as we read?)

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

