pussy willows on the pond

that were really ducks not at all in a row.  I saw them on my walk yesterday and they reminded me of the promise of the pussy willows in the spring.

According to Google, it’s cola de gato in Spanish, which translates back to cat’s tail.  They don’t know what it is in French.

We don’t take enough time to enjoy language.

Okay, maybe you do; I shouldn’t judge.

Here’s what Wikipedia has to say about them:

Pussy willow is a name given to many of the smaller species of the genus Salix (willows and sallows) when their furry catkins are young in early spring. These species include (among many others):

Before the male catkins of these species come into full flower they are covered in fine, greyish fur, leading to a fancied likeness to tiny cats, also known as “pussies”. The catkins appear long before the leaves, and are one of the earliest signs of spring. At other times of year trees of most of these species are usually known by their ordinary names.

We have some pussy willow branches in our dining room.  They have to be at least 15 years old.  Remember Mr. Grumpy?  Now that he’s dead, I’ll be more formal with his name, I guess.  Well, many many years ago, one summer, he was very nice to us.  Just this one year, now that I recall.  He would bring us things from a family farm, I think somewhere in New York State.  Early in the year, it was these pussy willows.  Later on, he would bring other kinds of produce, like grapes. It was very nice and neighborly.

And then that was it.

Did I bring him anything in return?

I don’t think I did.  Lost chance now.

2 responses

  1. Hi-
    I was looking around for information on pussy willows and found your blog. I love the photo of the tree at the top!
    For some reason, I’ve been wanting to get some pussy willows in my house and it’s been fun going on nature walks to try to find them here in Vermont. Yesterday, I finally broke down and bought some at Price Chopper. They were from a farm in New York.
    As for Mr. Grumpy… interesting story. Sounds like he was in your life to teach you about gratitude?
    Diane

Leave a Reply

