maybe she should have told me first

Alternative titles:

It’s a good thing I cover my hair.

But it makes you look younger!

Hmm.  Which would you go with?

And now, the story:  I got my hair cut yesterday.   A lot more than I thought I was going to, but that happens often, doesn’t it?  I went in for a trim, I thought.  It turns out that my hairdresser is now using her left hand to cut hair.  She’s Italian, so I’m not sure if she said she is left-handed or now she is left-handed.  Probably the latter.  She had an injury, pulled muscles, etc., that even after physical therapy (and we compared complaints about health care and coverage, etc.), she will need surgery next month.  And she’ll probably be out 2-3 months.

But in the mean time, she cut my hair.  A lot more than just a trim.

I’m not sure how it looks.  My husband, of course, said it looks great.  But he thought it looked great before the cut.  And he always thinks I look great, or at least he never admits to anything else.  Not that he mentions it very much, unless prompted, but I do avoid that.  What’s the point, right?  There is no right answer to what we are looking to hear.

So she told me, my hairdresser, that it makes me look younger.  Hmmm, if I went back to the shop in the Old City, would the shopkeeper still say that I look like a college professor?   Or does it make me look younger like I took scissors to my own head like I did when I was about 8-10 years old and was memorialized on my aunt’s wall with her caricatures of family members?

That’s a run-on sentence.  I’m not sure how to fix that.

I’m not sure how to fix my hair, either.  I guess I should have titled this, “Thank G-d it will grow”.

Leave a Reply

