spirals

I haven’t even made my Rosh Hashanah challahs yet, but I’m thinking of the spiral shape that more than ever defines our being.  Especially with the internet and searching and mass media and how we are bombarded with so many parts that we don’t get to invite what makes its way into our psyches.  It would be lovely to be linear, but we just aren’t anymore.  Not even horizontal.

I remember reading somewhere somewhat recently about Yehuda HaLevi’s definition as a Zionist poet is really undercut by the nature of the influences of his time, namely Sufism and other strands of mystical poetry.  I mentioned this to my husband, who was very interested in reading it.  At this point, so would I.  I cannot retrace my steps.  I have absolutely no recollection of where I read it; was it indeed on line?  A magazine?  A journal?  An article that was in shul?  At home?

Nope, not at a doctor’s office.

The best I can hope for is that it shows up on its own, like a puppy who has remembered that he will get fed much better back at his house than out in the world.

And, of course, if you see my puppy out in the world, can you bring him home?  Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

